It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:28 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Tutorial for Building PolyVox with CodeBlocks, MinGW, Ogre3D
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:28 am 

Hi, I'm new around here and my skills at programming are very rusty. Once upon a time I was a computer science student but the only thing I've done in years and years is some very simple Python scripting. I'm trying to get back into the swing of things but it's been a long time since I had to deal with compiler dependencies and linkers or build systems like Make and I remember almost none of it.

Anyway, I was trying to get Ogre3D set up with PolyVox and found the documentation to be lacking. I found a few threads where people tried to do this and they all seemed to figure it out but they were much smarter than I was and I couldn't follow directly.

To make a long story short, I finally muddled my way through it and finally got it going. In an attempt to save others from the same headaches I had I wrote something of an in-depth tutorial on the wiki from the basics of getting all the tools needed and how to configure them, through building PolyVox and then also setting up CodeBlocks so the wizard will create projects for you that include all the dependencies for both Ogre3D and PolyVox.

The tutorial is here:
https://bitbucket.org/volumesoffun/poly ... d%20Ogre3D

I have to point out at this point that setting up the environment is as far as I've gotten. I'm still muddling through PolyVox and getting code to actually render voxels in Ogre. I'd appreciate any feedback on the tutorial. I don't typically contribute to wikis so the formatting may not be ideal and the organization may need some work.

Last edited by emacaco on Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial for Building PolyVox with CodeBlocks, MinGW, Og
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:58 am 
Developer