It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:28 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Issues building PolyVox and Python bindings [SOLVED]
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 10:15 pm 

I'm having trouble building PolyVox and the bindings successfully.

I'm using MSVC 2008, Python 2.6, SWIG 2.0.3 and Boost 1.46.1

I downloaded PolyVox-SVN1440.zip from the download page.

I had to change MeshDecimator, it uses cbegin() and cend(). These had to be changed to the normal begin() and end().
I then uncommented the CMake command to build the bindings.

I can build this in MSVC successfully. But swig fails when generating the bindings.

Afterward I noticed your post here regarding newer version of PolyVox being broken for bindings which would confirm this. So I won't bother with this version as I want to get this up and running ASAP. I would love to help get this working but I'm not experienced with SWIG or language bindings.

The post also stated to use the previous version if bindings are important to use the previous snapshot, PolyVox-SVN1348. So I've downloaded this and tried it instead.

With this I am unable to build PolyVox in MSVC.
I get the following error:
Code:
2>AStarPathfinder.cpp
2>C:\Users\adam\workspace\c++\PolyVox-SVN1348\library\PolyVoxCore\include\AStarPathfinder.h(66) : error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'function'
2>        C:\Users\adam\workspace\c++\PolyVox-SVN1348\library\PolyVoxCore\include\AStarPathfinder.h(137) : see reference to class template instantiation 'PolyVox::AStarPathfinderParams<VoxelType>' being compiled

I inserted #error directives in the non-boost includes in TypeDef.h and can confirm that the boost includes are being used.

I'm not sure what to do about this.
If this isn't a trivial fix, is there a known version that does build with MSVC 2008 and has working Python bindings?

Thanks for your help =)

Last edited by Soulsick on Sat May 21, 2011 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline Profile