It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 1:34 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: How do I setup a simple modifiable terrain in an Ogre scene?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:04 pm 

Hi everyone. I've been wanting to make project for a while using the Ogre engine, with a world containing destructible smooth terrain. I looked for many voxel terrain implementations... but none worked well, had source / license available, or were still under development. I came across PolyVox and it seems to be exactly what I'm looking for. I'm a beginner programmer and also new to Ogre, so I have some issues with setting everything up.

I got Ogre's tutorial framework to compile and render a simple scene, as explained here. I also compiled PolyVox and it generated two .lib files which I'm referencing in my project (together with the PolyVox source). For starters, I'm trying to get it to render some simple terrain I can modify using the wiki example code. I added that code to TutorialApplication::createScene but I now get a dozen compile errors. Here is the compile log.

Since there can be many reasons for this and I'm still new, I'm wondering if anyone has some specific, clear and descriptive instructions on how to setup Ogre to render a simple patch of voxel terrain, with simple digging / building support. What Ogre functions and plugins must I include, and are there more detailed examples and instructions? After I get a basic scene working I'll probably be more specific with what I'm trying to make. I'm also curious if there's a list with all the functions in PolyVox, and what lines of code can be used to do things to the terrain.

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: How do I setup a simple modifiable terrain in an Ogre sc
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 5:38 pm 

skimming your log perhaps you forgot to link to PolyVox lib. You seemed to have compiled and build PolyVox libs, now you need to link to it in your application.

Double check to see if the following are there:

-In solution explorer