It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 1:34 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Voxel Picking
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:33 pm 

Hi, I'm pretty new to PolyVox and curious if anyone has experience doing 3d picking - basically I am trying to figure out which voxel is hit, and then modifying the density to be 0 for that voxel - which I assume should have the effect of "eroding" my voxel terrain.

I do a raycastWithDirection from my eye point, in the direction of the projected 2D touch point (I'm doing this on iOS):
Code:
    VoxelPickerRaycastCallback voxelPickerRaycastCallback;
    RaycastResult intersection=raycastWithDirection(volData, start, direction, voxelPickerRaycastCallback);

Inside my VoxelPickerRaycastCallback, I keep track of the intersection points (I am suspicious of whether this is correct):

Code:
    bool operator()(const SimpleVolume<MaterialDensityPair88>::Sampler& sampler) {
      MaterialDensityPair88 voxel=sampler.getVoxel();
      Vector3DInt32 position=sampler.getPosition();
      intersectPoints.push_back(position);
      return true;
    }

And then finally I go through the intersect points and modify the density:

Code:
    if (intersection==RaycastResult::Completed) {
      NSLog(@"Found Intersection");
      vector<Vector3DInt32>::iterator i=voxelPickerRaycastCallback.intersectPoints.begin();

while (i!=voxelPickerRaycastCallback.intersectPoints.end()) {
        //NSLog(@"Hit At:%d, %d, %d", (*i).getX(), (*i).getY(), (*i).getZ());

//update the voxel data and rebuild the
        MaterialDensityPair88 voxel=volData->getVoxelAt((int)(i->getX()), (int)(i->getY()), (int)(i->getZ()));
        if (voxel.getDensity()>0) {
          voxel.setDensity(0);
          volData->setVoxelAt((int)(i->getX()), (int)(i->getY()), (int)(i->getZ()), voxel);
        }

++i;
      }

[self regenerateBuffers];
    }

I get back a bunch of points in the intersect points, and it turns out that none of them ever trigger the voxel.getDensity()>0 condition.